The Kotoko board and management are dissolved by the decree of Asantehene.

Sports Trending News

The board and administration of Asante Kotoko have been dissolved by decree of the Asantehene Otumfuo Nana Osei Tutu II.

The now-defunct board was founded in 2020 with billionaire Dr. Kwame Kyei serving as chair and Mr. Jude Arthur as vice-chair. The board also included Kwadwo Boateng Gyamfi, Kwasi Osei Ofori, Kwamena Mensah, Evelyn Nsiah Asare, Kofi Amoah Abban, Martin Osei Kwaku Brobbey, James Osei Brown, Nana Ankobeahene of Asanteman-Baffour Kwame Kusi, Alhaji Lamin, and Joseph Yaw Adu.

Despite being filled with creative and knowledgeable brains, its progress was limited due to its incapacity to settle important disputes.

Over the past three years, disagreements between board chair Dr. Kwame Kyei and chief executive officer Yaw Amponsah have been a recurring theme.

The pair’s relationship had soured, Nana Yaw Amponsah said in a recent interview with Kumasi-based Wontumi FM.

“I don’t have any issue with Dr. Kwame Kyei as I sit. I give him the maximum respect wherever and whenever I meet him, but our relationship and how to communicate as CEO and his board chairman is not good like the beginning.”

Although the Asantehene is believed to have been upset by the strained relationship between the two and the division among board members, sources claim that in the owner’s opinion, the board and management failed to fulfill their mandate, which included many other things creating a commercially successful organization.

In due order, the club will announce a new path.